Tenth Week – Excel Add-on Results and Republishment (7/20/2015)

A few days after submitting my excel add-on to the google team, I received the results and feedbacks regarding my work. They find my add-on interesting, and they want me to make a few changes before publishing it in the google store. The major modifications are to add the help menu, and upload promotional tile images. The republishing process is as tricky as the initial publishing process, because I constantly received error messages indicating that I still had to accept the terms and services, but I was redirected to a different location every time I attempted to get to that destination. I was required to upload an application zip file containing  a “manifest.json” which includes the information regarding the add-on in programming format. After working on all the suggestions, I resubmitted my work, and geared back to site modifications.

As I was tackling the site title to be linked to the official berea sustainability website, I accidentally broke the whole site today again by including an incorrect syntax in theme-functions.php. Dr. Heggen and Dr. Jadud helped me debug the program, and we found that the error stemmed from using a different single quote than the rest in the file. So, we had to copy paste that symbol and embed our link in the appropriate line of the functions. The same thing happened last friday when I tried to add a hyperlink to the site title, and the site broke down. Dr. Jadud and Matt helped me recover the site by granting me access to the wordpress host files with filezilla. Luckily, I was lucidly aware of how and where I broke it, so it was an easy fix. The only challenge was that my account was denied access because my password contained illegal characters such as %,#. So, Matt created another account for me to access the host files.

My epiphany as of these days was the realization of how important the syntax is in programming, because a simple semicolon or an extra letter can entirely break down the site in one click, and possibly cause a fledgling programmer a minor heart attack.

Leave a comment