Ninth Week – Excel Add-on Publishing Attempts and WordPress Modifications (7/16/2015)

The meeting with Ms. Pauly yesterday was encouraging.

Unlike the last meeting, I was not asked to change my workspace platform, but instead, she commended my work with the new wordpress site. There were some minor changes to be made in menu and items arrangement, term consistencies, and types of graph utilized. We discussed about the site modifications for an hour and a half, and a wonderful thing happened during that time frame; for I was offered a job to maintain the website for my remaining year at Berea College. Since I already have a primary labor position as a chemistry teaching assistant, I may be able to take it as my secondary labor position (0-5 hours) per week. I cherish that opportunity because I am devoted to all details of the website, especially those related with front-end, back-end, functionalities of data mapping and graph presentations.

I ran into a few more challenges as I worked on those modifications in the later half of the day. For example, the sub menus were cut off when their widths exceeded the internal page width, which I initially did not encounter before. One button from the front page had to be removed and I had to tackle designing and rearranging the odd pair number of buttons on the front page. I could not manually edit the space between the buttons because they were prone to get deformed in a different browser or on a device. Furthermore, the theme utilized for the website is user-friendly, but not tech-friendly in terms of programming so I have to explore more about it to embed an external link in the site title.

Moving onto the excel add-on, I managed to submit my work to the google team after a few hours of exploration and experimenting with the publishing process, and it was currently under review.

Today has been productive and satisfactory.

Leave a comment