Tenth Week – URCPP Debugging (7/23/2015)

“Big scary things include shark, tiger and enormous files of codes especially written by somebody else.” At least, it was what I used to think before this summer, but my internship has helped me overcome the last of the three stated fear triggers, especially the urcpp project developed by Austen and Leslie two years ago. Since I was waiting for another round of my add-on feedback from the google team, and as well completed the suggested site modifications from last week meeting, I decided that I would help Austen with one of his side projects. He offered his URCPP project which instantly exposed me to my third fear, because apparently the files contain enormous lines of codes. It is a project where faculties digitally uploaded their research proposals with all the required information such as students, funding, location, etc. to the database. He did a good job at explaining his codes and the areas to be debugged to get the desired outputs on the site, so I felt more relaxed and confident as I thoroughly looked into the files.

Dr. Heggen and Austen were very helpful in the process, and at the end of the day, I finished the debugging process. The site was up running again. So, I shifted my gears toward another project “Faculty Annual Report” and we started discussing about the similar processes in four or five projects that our peers have been working on. The day was closing in, and I got to figure out the stuff that I needed to do to initiate the project.

Leave a comment