Eighth Week – Connect Sheet & Contemplations (7/3/2015)

Today is the last day of my official internship period, which is probably why I find myself contemplating on my work of previous two months. In terms of technical experience, I commenced with the minimal level of skills and knowledge required to tackle the project on the first day of internship. I remember my wobbly confidence, and contrastingly, hopeful expectations and excitement at the imagination of being able to accomplish this project, and acquire the experience and skills demanded from it. in terms of technical experience, I have constructed the entire portal in two different platforms: wordpress and drupal, while at the same time, I have learned different languages of php, css and html. I familiarized myself with operating terminal and constructing drupal modules and organizations of the platform in general. Though it was not anything to be headily impressive about, I felt satisfied about completing the portal with wordpress in two days. Yet, it seemed that I unconsciously expected more of myself along the way, because today, I know for a fact that I would keep hanging onto this project until I finish constructing the excel add-on for effective data mapping in google drive, and until I am fully satisfied with every little aspect of the portal including visual appearance and internal data update and modification convenience, even if Ms. Pauly and Ms. Dangerfield are happy with it. Currently, regarding the excel add-on, I am in the process of designing an algorithm and debugging my program while learning Java on the other hand.

As of now, the portal has been linked to the parent Berea Office of Sustainability and released live. I manually designed the front page icons, but I am convinced that they can be perfected more. I might still keep working on it during my free time, but meanwhile, I will prioritize the excel add-on programming. Since I am going to be off for one week, I am convinced my brain will be replenished,( and hopefully not atrophied) and ready to get back to completing the dwelling task.

Leave a comment