Eighth Week – Web Development with WordPress (6/29/2015)

The first day of our last official week of internship – I was finishing up the last piece of feature on my drupal site, slideshow arrows. This morning, though I was nervously aware of the possibility that my site might not be approved because it is entirely built on drupal platform than on wordpress which is supported by Berea College, I was partly holding onto the slim chance of its approval; hence, I kept working on the slideshow feature until the meeting with Mr. Charlie. From this meeting, I learned the hard way that consistency is much appreciated, even at the sacrifice of an internist’s devoted work of seven weeks.

It has now become official that I, much to my dismay, have to reconstruct all my work of two-month internship on wordpress. The efficacy of the features within my drupal site were acknowledged, and my objective now is to implement the similar ones using wordpress platform. No one that I have consulted are wordpress experts, so I am behooved to figured things out and see for myself how much functionality is supported in wordpress. I was certainly not happy at the thought of my work being dumped this way, but there was something about this tribulation that kept me excited. In contrary to my previous assumptions, I am quite excited to switch to a new platform and learn about its features. I have wanted to personally experience both of them and compare, contrast their extensive functionalities as a web developer. I have enjoyed exploring one of the major web platforms, drupal, and now I am blessed with a chance to dive into the other rivaling major web platform, wordpress. I see this opportunity as a means to learning, collecting bits and bits of knowledge in my bucket of skills, and like a hopeful fool, I am eternally convinced that things will work out well in the end. I believe that the entire web transformation can be accomplished within this week, though I am eligible to work for four more extra weeks.

Mark helped me set up wordpress, and I started exploring its features, which I find very convenient and user friendly. Just like in drupal, wordpress functions with modules installed as plugins which are designed individually to achieve specific objectives.  I applied visualization module to sync google spreadsheet to display data in my preferred charts. I finished importing data on recycle & compost, and solid waste, and illustrating them in charts. Below is a screenshot of one of the graphs created on wordpress.

Chart on WordPress
Chart on WordPress

At the end of the day, I find myself more convinced about accomplishing all the work within this week.

Leave a comment